oinky pigs and squichy octopus

HURRAY!!! my first experiment with amigurumi was a success!!!!

First, I spent months and months and months saving the odds and ends from different knitting projects. I started to realize how much of this I was throwing away and that it could some day be useful. So, with no particular purpose in mind at the time, I began gathering “guts”

Then, I grabbed a pile of left over green acrylic yarn from a hat project and began to form a body. That was so much fun, I decided to make two. And, stuffed the guts into the fuzzy round bodies. So, here’s the pig, before th final stitch up, and the finished octopus body.

After the bodies were stuffed, I created the tenticles. It was tedious making so many of the same little thing, but finally all eight were done. I thought stringing them together would make them easier to work with, we shall see, I have yet to attach them to the body…

So, after a while of playing with the string of tenticles and throwing the bodies at my boyfriend…I got back to business on constructing Wilma. Wilma the pig has a curly pink tail, a cute curly pink nose and pink ears and feet. She is very excited in anticipation of being listed on Etsy, but for now she will have to deal with just the blog 🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 15:09:00

    Wilma is so cute…the name suits her, especially since she has a curly tail!

    Reply

  2. kim*
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 15:13:00

    looks fun!

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 15:17:00

    Those are so cute! Great way to use your scraps, too. I’ll have to save mine for guts, now.

    Reply

  4. lara
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 07:24:00

    soooooo cute. i want the octopus! and way to be green and not throw things away! i love you sister, you are such a creator of fabulous things. make more more more. be proficient in making cute little creatures!

    Reply

  5. Lenox Knits
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 15:31:00

    What a fun and creative use for scraps. I’m totally inspired!

    Reply

  6. Crystal
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 17:19:00

    Piggy!!! So cute!

    Reply

  7. Eunice Beshears
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 19:46:00

    Very creative. The pig is great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

